Friday, 15 April 2016

FCT Election: PDP Loses Out As APC Wins 5 Seats

The All Progressives Congress showed superiority over its arch-rival, the Peoples Democratic Party as it emerged winners in Wednesday’s rerun elections in four Area Councils of the Federal Capital Territory, Abuja.

The PDP, which was the dominant party at the councils, lost at all the six area councils where the election was eventually conducted. The Independent National Electoral Commission had earlier announced the result of two other area councils on Sunday, a day after the election was conducted.

The result of the election showed that the relatively unknown political party, the All Progressive Grand Alliance emerged winner in one of the area councils. Council where rerun elections were held were Abuja Municipal Area Council, Kuje, Abaji and Gwagwalada.

They commission had on Sunday declared elections in these councils as inconclusive. INEC said it declared the elections inconclusive as a result of violence, over voting and non-use of Smart Card Readers or accreditation of voters, and ordered a rerun in 39 polling units in 20 Registration Areas.

 In the result released on Thursday, INEC declared the APC candidate, Ibrahim Adamu Candido winner of AMAC with 27, 482 votes. Also in Kuje Area Council, Abdullahi Galadima of APC won with 15, 175 votes while Joseph Shazih won in Kwali Area Council with 15, 309 votes. The party’s candidates also won in Bwari and Abaji Area Councils. Credit: Punch